Voting Population

Eligibility (73.8% eligible to vote)
Delaware, the first state, joined the Union in December 1787 and has participated in all 58 presidential elections. For 56 of those elections, the state has had three electoral votes – it contributed four in 1812 and 1820. The fact that Delaware sided with the Republicans throughout most of the 20th century can be partially attributed to the presence of the DuPont Company and the Du Pont family and their effect on state politics. That influence waned toward the end of the century as Delaware’s businesses became more diversified.

Delaware has 3 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Dover, DE   •   2020 Population: 982,895   •   US Representatives: 1

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (26.8% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (35.2% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2016 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Delaware. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Christopher A. Coons Profile Picture
 Christopher A. Coons
U.S. Senator
218 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-5042
Thomas R. Carper Profile Picture
 Thomas R. Carper
U.S. Senator
513 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-2441
Lisa Blunt Rochester Profile Picture
 Lisa Blunt Rochester
U.S. Representative
1724 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
 (202) 225-4165
John Carney Profile Picture
 John Carney
Governor of Delaware
150 Martin Luther King Junior Boulevard South
Dover, DE 19901
 (302) 744-4101
Bethany Hall-Long Profile Picture
 Bethany Hall-Long
Lieutenant Governor of Delaware
150 Martin Luther King Junior Boulevard South
Dover, DE 19901
 (302) 744-4333
Trinidad Navarro Profile Picture
 Trinidad Navarro
DE State Insurance Commissioner
1351 West North Street
Dover, DE 19904
 (302) 674-7300
Lydia E. York Profile Picture
 Lydia E. York
DE State Auditor of Accounts
401 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
 (302) 739-4241
Colleen C. Davis Profile Picture
 Colleen C. Davis
DE State Treasurer
820 Silver Lake Boulevard
Dover, DE 19904
 (302) 672-6700
Kathy Jennings Profile Picture
 Kathy Jennings
DE State Attorney General
820 North French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801
 (302) 577-8400

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Delaware will cast 3 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions


The Auditor General is the chief fiscal watchdog of the commonwealth. This person is responsible for using annual audits to ensure that all government money is spent legally and properly.

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.


Typically, the Treasurer's duties include financial management and oversight of the particular department of which he or she manages. A Treasurer may also manage or oversee the financial affairs of the organization, often including tasks as selecting a bank, reconciling bank statements, and managing cash flow.

Available Zip Codes in Delaware

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2024  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy