Voting Population

Eligibility (72.2% eligible to vote)
Virginia, one of the original 13 colonies and birthplace of four of the first five U.S. presidents, joined the Union in June 1788. In 1792, Virginia controlled 15.9% of all electoral votes, the largest concentration in U.S. history. The Commonwealth did not participate in the 1864 and 1868 elections due to secession. From the post-Civil War Reconstruction period through 1948, Virginians almost always sided with the Democratic Party in elections. However, from 1952 through 2004, Virginia was reliably Republican (except for the landslide of Lyndon Johnson over Barry Goldwater in 1964). What changed? In the early 1950s, Virginia politics was controlled by Democratic Senator Harry F. Byrd, Sr., and his political machine. For the 1952 cycle, Byrd announced he would not be endorsing a candidate, saying “Silence is Golden.” People knew this meant that it would be okay to vote for the Republican Dwight Eisenhower.

has 13 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Richmond, VA   •   2020 Population: 8,626,207   •   US Representatives: 11

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (29.5% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (32.9% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

Unfortunately we were not able to understand the address you input: . Please try again.

 Elected Role Descriptions

Available Zip Codes in Virginia

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2022  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy