North Carolina

North Carolina

  Voting Population

Eligibility (72.5% eligible to vote)
North Carolina, one of the original 13 colonies, entered the Union in November 1789. The state did not participate in the 1864 election due to secession. Like many other southern states, North Carolina voted almost exclusively Democratic from 1876 through 1964 and almost exclusively Republican beginning in 1968. The initial shift was largely in response to white conservative voter uneasiness with the civil rights legislation passed in the mid-1960s, which was effectively exploited by the Republicans “southern strategy.”

has 15 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Raleigh, NC   •   2020 Population: 10,611,862   •   US Representatives: 13

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (32.8% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (30.2% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2016 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

Unfortunately we were not able to understand the address you input: . Please try again.

 Elected Role Descriptions

Available Zip Codes in North Carolina

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2022  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy