New Mexico

New Mexico

  Voting Population

Eligibility (70.3% eligible to vote)
New Mexico joined the Union in January 1912. It has participated in 27 presidential elections through 2016, with the results split almost down the middle; 15 for Democrats, 12 for Republicans. However, Democrats have now won 6 of the last 7 elections. This shift is at least partially due to the increasing support of the Democratic party by Latinos in recent years. 2016 saw Hillary Clinton defeat Donald Trump by about 8 points.

New Mexico has 5 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Santa Fe, NM   •   2020 Population: 2,096,640   •   US Representatives: 3

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (21.8% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (28.4% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for New Mexico. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Ben Ray Luján Profile Picture
 Ben Ray Luján
U.S. Senator  (202) 224-6621
Martin Heinrich Profile Picture
 Martin Heinrich
U.S. Senator
United States Senate
303 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-5521
Michelle Lujan Grisham Profile Picture
 Michelle Lujan Grisham
Governor of New Mexico
490 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
 (505) 476-2200
Howie Morales Profile Picture
 Howie Morales
Lieutenant Governor of New Mexico
490 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
 (505) 476-2250
Stephanie Garcia Richard Profile Picture
 Stephanie Garcia Richard
NM State Commissioner of Public Lands  (505) 827-5760
Joseph Maestas Profile Picture
 Joseph Maestas
NM State Auditor
Maggie Toulouse Oliver Profile Picture
 Maggie Toulouse Oliver
NM Secretary of State
325 Don Gaspar Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87501
 (800) 477-3632
Laura M. Montoya Profile Picture
 Laura M. Montoya
NM State Treasurer
Raul Torrez Profile Picture
 Raul Torrez
NM State Attorney General
Briana H. Zamora Profile Picture
 Briana H. Zamora
NM State Supreme Court Justice  (505) 827-4860
David K. Thomson Profile Picture
 David K. Thomson
NM State Supreme Court Justice  (505) 827-4860
Julie J. Vargas Profile Picture
 Julie J. Vargas
NM State Supreme Court Justice  (505) 827-4860
Michael E. Vigil Profile Picture
 Michael E. Vigil
NM State Supreme Court Justice  (505) 827-4860
Shannon Bacon Profile Picture
 Shannon Bacon
NM State Supreme Court Justice  (505) 827-4860

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

New Mexico will cast 5 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions


The Auditor General is the chief fiscal watchdog of the commonwealth. This person is responsible for using annual audits to ensure that all government money is spent legally and properly.

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.


Typically, the Treasurer's duties include financial management and oversight of the particular department of which he or she manages. A Treasurer may also manage or oversee the financial affairs of the organization, often including tasks as selecting a bank, reconciling bank statements, and managing cash flow.

Available Zip Codes in New Mexico

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2023  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy