Voting Population

Eligibility (70.7% eligible to vote)
Maryland, one of the original 13 colonies, entered the Union in April 1788 and has participated in all 58 presidential elections. Maryland has been primarily a “blue” state since the founding of the modern political parties (around the time of the Civil War). Since 1960, Maryland has voted Republican only in the landslide wins of Richard Nixon in 1972, Ronald Reagan in 1984 and George H. W. Bush in 1988. In 2016, Hillary Clinton easily overcame Donald Trump here (60% to 34%).

Maryland has 10 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Annapolis, MD   •   2020 Population: 6,083,116   •   US Representatives: 8

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (22.4% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (39.8% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Maryland. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Benjamin L. Cardin Profile Picture
 Benjamin L. Cardin
U.S. Senator
United States Senate
509 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-4524
Chris Van Hollen Profile Picture
 Chris Van Hollen
U.S. Senator
United States Senate
110 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-4654
Wes Moore Profile Picture
 Wes Moore
Governor of Maryland
Aruna Miller Profile Picture
 Aruna Miller
Lieutenant Governor of Maryland
Anthony G. Brown Profile Picture
 Anthony G. Brown
MD State Attorney General
Brooke Elizabeth Lierman Profile Picture
 Brooke Elizabeth Lierman
MD State Comptroller

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Maryland will cast 10 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.

Available Zip Codes in Maryland

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2023  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy