Voting Population

Eligibility (79.1% eligible to vote)
Maine entered the Union in March 1820 as part of the Missouri Compromise. No state outside the original 13 colonies has started with more electoral votes – it had nine in the 1820 election. By the mid-19th century, Maine began losing electoral votes, and has had four since the 1964 election. Primarily Republican from the Civil War (going “blue” only in 1912, 1964, and 1968) through the 1980s, Maine has voted Democratic in the last seven elections, although the 2016 race was much closer than in recent elections. Hillary Clinton won the state by just 2.9% over Donald Trump.

Maine has 4 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Augusta, ME   •   2020 Population: 1,345,790   •   US Representatives: 2

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (31.8% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (38% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Maine. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Angus S. King, Jr. Profile Picture
 Angus S. King, Jr.
U.S. Senator
133 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-5344
Susan M. Collins Profile Picture
 Susan M. Collins
U.S. Senator
413 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-2523
Janet Mills Profile Picture
 Janet Mills
Governor of Maine
1 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
 (800) 423-2900

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Maine will cast 4 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions

Available Zip Codes in Maine

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2024  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy