Voting Population

Eligibility (73.9% eligible to vote)
Louisiana, created mostly, but not entirely, from land bought from France in the Louisiana Purchase, became a state in April 1812. Louisiana seceded from the Union during the Civil War and did not participate in the 1864 election. The state’s electoral votes were rejected in 1872 due to irregularities. Largely due to outward migration after Hurricane Katrina, Louisiana lost one electoral vote after the 2010 Census. Like many southern states, Louisiana voted Democratic from Reconstruction through World War II. Although perceived as solidly Republican today (Donald Trump won over Hillary Clinton by nearly 20 points in 2016), Louisiana has voted Democratic three times since 1976 when the nominee of that party was a Southern governor. Jimmy Carter won there in 1976, as did Bill Clinton, both in 1992 and 1996.

Louisiana has 8 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Baton Rouge, LA   •   2020 Population: 4,645,184   •   US Representatives: 6

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (34.3% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (23.6% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Louisiana. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Bill Cassidy Profile Picture
 Bill Cassidy
U.S. Senator
50 Constitution Avenue Northeast

Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-5824
John Kennedy Profile Picture
 John Kennedy
U.S. Senator
2 Constitution Avenue Northeast

Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-4623
Jeff Landry Profile Picture
 Jeff Landry
Governor of Louisiana  (225) 342-7015
Billy Nungesser Profile Picture
 Billy Nungesser
Lieutenant Governor of Louisiana
Office of Lieutenant Governor Billy Nungesser
Capitol Annex Building

Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4243
 (225) 342-7009
Conrad Appel Profile Picture
 Conrad Appel
LA State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education Member  (225) 342-5840
Judy Armstrong Profile Picture
 Judy Armstrong
LA State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education Member  (225) 342-5840
Simone Champagne Profile Picture
 Simone Champagne
LA State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education Member  (225) 342-5840
Nancy Landry Profile Picture
 Nancy Landry
LA Secretary of State  (225) 922-2880
Tim Temple Profile Picture
 Tim Temple
LA State Commissioner of Insurance  (225) 342-5900
John C. Fleming Profile Picture
 John C. Fleming
LA State Treasurer  (225) 342-0010
Mike Strain Profile Picture
 Mike Strain
LA State Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry
5825 Florida Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
 (225) 922-1234
Liz Murrill Profile Picture
 Liz Murrill
LA State Attorney General  (225) 326-6079

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Louisiana will cast 8 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.


Typically, the Treasurer's duties include financial management and oversight of the particular department of which he or she manages. A Treasurer may also manage or oversee the financial affairs of the organization, often including tasks as selecting a bank, reconciling bank statements, and managing cash flow.

Available Zip Codes in Louisiana

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2024 ElectedGovernment.org  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy