Voting Population

Eligibility (75.1% eligible to vote)
Kentucky entered the Union in June 1792, the second state to join after the original 13 colonies. A border state, Kentucky remained in the Union during the Civil War, yet joined most other southern states in voting almost exclusively Democratic from that era through World War II. Since the 1950s, Kentucky has been reliably Republican, although its voters have been willing to vote Democratic when a southern governor has run – the state voted for Jimmy Carter in 1976 and for Bill Clinton in both 1992 and 1996. In 2016, Donald Trump defeated Hillary Clinton 63% to 33%.

Kentucky has 8 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Frankfort, KY   •   2020 Population: 4,499,692   •   US Representatives: 6

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (36.3% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (20.5% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Kentucky. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Mitch McConnell Profile Picture
 Mitch McConnell
U.S. Senator
317 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-2541
Rand Paul Profile Picture
 Rand Paul
U.S. Senator
167 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-4343
Andy Beshear Profile Picture
 Andy Beshear
Governor of Kentucky
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 564-2611
Jacqueline Coleman Profile Picture
 Jacqueline Coleman
Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 564-2611
Jonathan Shell Profile Picture
 Jonathan Shell
KY State Agriculture Commissioner
105 Corporate Drive
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 573-0282
Allison Ball Profile Picture
 Allison Ball
KY State Auditor of Public Accounts
209 Saint Clair Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 564-5841
Mark Metcalf Profile Picture
 Mark Metcalf
KY State Treasurer
1050 U.S. Highway 127 South
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 564-4722
Michael G. Adams Profile Picture
 Michael G. Adams
KY Secretary of State
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 564-3490
Russell Coleman Profile Picture
 Russell Coleman
KY State Attorney General
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
 (502) 696-5300

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Kentucky will cast 8 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions


The Auditor General is the chief fiscal watchdog of the commonwealth. This person is responsible for using annual audits to ensure that all government money is spent legally and properly.

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.


Typically, the Treasurer's duties include financial management and oversight of the particular department of which he or she manages. A Treasurer may also manage or oversee the financial affairs of the organization, often including tasks as selecting a bank, reconciling bank statements, and managing cash flow.

Available Zip Codes in Kentucky

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2024  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy