Voting Population

Eligibility (73.9% eligible to vote)
Iowa gained statehood in December 1846. Prior to 1988, the state mostly voted Republican, choosing a candidate from that party all but five times from the Civil War years through that year. While a battleground every four years, Iowa had sided with the Democrats in six of seven elections from 1992 through 2012. That changed dramatically in 2016, when Donald Trump won the state by nearly 9.5%, a 15 point swing from 2012 when Barack Obama won the state by 5.8%.

has 6 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Des Moines, IA   •   2020 Population: 3,179,849   •   US Representatives: 4

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (34.9% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (35.8% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

Unfortunately we were not able to understand the address you input: . Please try again.

 Elected Role Descriptions

Available Zip Codes in Iowa

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2022  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy