Voting Population

Eligibility (70.1% eligible to vote)
Illinois became a state in December 1818. Largely Republican from the Civil War through the 1920s, the state voted Democratic throughout the Great Depression and World War II, then returned to the Republicans for eight out of 10 elections from 1952 through 1988. Illinois has voted Democratic in the last seven elections. In 2016, Hillary Clinton easily beat Donald Trump 56% to 39%.

Illinois has 20 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Springfield, IL   •   2020 Population: 12,659,682   •   US Representatives: 18

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (23.8% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (33.5% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Illinois. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Dick Durbin Profile Picture
 Dick Durbin
U.S. Senator
United States Senate
711 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-2152
Tammy Duckworth Profile Picture
 Tammy Duckworth
U.S. Senator
524 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-2854
JB Pritzker Profile Picture
 JB Pritzker
Governor of Illinois
207 State House
Springfield, IL 62706
 (217) 782-6830
Juliana Stratton Profile Picture
 Juliana Stratton
Lieutenant Governor of Illinois
Kwame Raoul Profile Picture
 Kwame Raoul
IL State Attorney General
500 South 2nd Street
Springfield, IL 62701
 (217) 782-1090
Alexi Giannoulias Profile Picture
 Alexi Giannoulias
IL Secretary of State
213 State Capitol
Springfield, IL 62756
 (800) 252-8980
Susana A. Mendoza Profile Picture
 Susana A. Mendoza
IL State Comptroller
325 West Adams Street
Springfield, IL 62704
 (217) 782-6000
Michael W. Frerichs Profile Picture
 Michael W. Frerichs
IL State Treasurer
219 State House
Springfield, IL 62705
 (866) 458-7327

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Illinois will cast 20 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.


Typically, the Treasurer's duties include financial management and oversight of the particular department of which he or she manages. A Treasurer may also manage or oversee the financial affairs of the organization, often including tasks as selecting a bank, reconciling bank statements, and managing cash flow.

Available Zip Codes in Illinois

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2024  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy