Voting Population

Eligibility (63.7% eligible to vote)
Texas became a state in December 1845, participating in its first presidential election in 1848. Texas seceded from the Union in 1861 and was not included in the 1864 or 1868 elections. From 1872 through 1976, Texas went Democratic in the vast majority of elections. However, that changed in 1980, and Texas has sided with the Republicans ever since. Having a Bush on the ticket each election from 1980 through 2004 (except 1996) helped make Texas a reliably “red” state. In 2016, Donald Trump won the state by a margin of 52 percent to 43 percent over Hillary Clinton. Two of the state's Electors were faithless that year, one each voting for Ron Paul and John Kasich.

Texas has 38 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Austin, TX   •   2020 Population: 29,472,295   •   US Representatives: 36

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (27.3% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (19.3% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Texas. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

John Cornyn Profile Picture
 John Cornyn
U.S. Senator
517 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-2934
Ted Cruz Profile Picture
 Ted Cruz
U.S. Senator
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-5922
Greg Abbott Profile Picture
 Greg Abbott
Governor of Texas
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 12428

Austin, TX 78711-2428
 (512) 463-2000
Dan Patrick Profile Picture
 Dan Patrick
Lieutenant Governor of Texas
Lieutenant Governor's Office
P.O. Box 12068

Austin, TX 78711
 (512) 463-0001
Ryan Sitton Profile Picture
 Ryan Sitton
TX Railroad Commissioner  (512) 463-7144
Wayne Christian Profile Picture
 Wayne Christian
TX Railroad Commissioner  (512) 463-7131
Christi Craddick Profile Picture
 Christi Craddick
TX Railroad Commissioner  (512) 463-7140
John Phillip Devine Profile Picture
 John Phillip Devine
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Eva Guzman Profile Picture
 Eva Guzman
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Jimmy Blacklock Profile Picture
 Jimmy Blacklock
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Paul W. Green Profile Picture
 Paul W. Green
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Jane Bland Profile Picture
 Jane Bland
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Debra Lehrmann Profile Picture
 Debra Lehrmann
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Brett Busby Profile Picture
 Brett Busby
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Jeffrey S. Boyd Profile Picture
 Jeffrey S. Boyd
TX Supreme Court Associate Justice  (512) 463-1312
Ken Paxton Profile Picture
 Ken Paxton
TX Attorney General  (512) 463-2100
Sid Miller Profile Picture
 Sid Miller
TX Commissioner of Agriculture  (512) 463-7476
Nathan L. Hecht Profile Picture
 Nathan L. Hecht
TX Supreme Court Chief Justice  (512) 463-1312
Glenn Hegar Profile Picture
 Glenn Hegar
TX Comptroller of Public Accounts  (512) 463-4444
George P. Bush Profile Picture
 George P. Bush
TX Commissioner of General Land Office  (800) 998-4456

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Texas will cast 38 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Donald J. Trump Profile Picture
 Donald J. Trump
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Mike Pence Profile Picture
 Mike Pence
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions

Associate Justice:

An associate judge has the same judicial responsibilities with respect to cases as the chief judge, but typically has fewer or different administrative responsibilities.

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.

Available Zip Codes in Texas

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2020 ElectedGovernment.org  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy