Voting Population

Eligibility (71.3% eligible to vote)
Nebraska entered the Union in March 1867, 13 years after it became a territory under the Kansas-Nebraska Act, and the first state admitted after the end of the Civil War. The state is strongly Republican in presidential elections – it last voted Democratic in 1964. However, it is one of only two states (Maine being the other) to not use the winner-take-all approach to awarding electoral votes. The winner of the popular vote gets two electoral votes, while one is assigned to the winner of each of the state’s three congressional districts. This approach was established beginning with the 1992 election.

Nebraska has 5 Electoral College votes to cast in Presidential elections.

State Capital: Lincoln, NE   •   2020 Population: 1,952,570   •   US Representatives: 3

  Recent Election Results

2016 Presidential (37% voted Republican)
2012 Presidential (22.5% voted Democratic)
2016 US Senate
2016 US House
2014 Gubernatorial

 Current Elected Officials

This is the list of elected officials for Nebraska. This includes roles such as Governor and Lieutenant Governor, US and state senators and house representatives.

Ben Sasse Profile Picture
 Ben Sasse
U.S. Senator
107 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-4224
Deb Fischer Profile Picture
 Deb Fischer
U.S. Senator
454 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-6551
Pete Ricketts Profile Picture
 Pete Ricketts
Governor of Nebraska
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 94848

Lincoln, NE 68509-4848
 (402) 471-2244
Mike Foley Profile Picture
 Mike Foley
Lieutenant Governor of Nebraska
Office of the Governor
P.O. Box 94848

Lincoln, NE 68509-4848
 (402) 471-2256
Michael G. Heavican Profile Picture
 Michael G. Heavican
NE Supreme Court Chief Justice
1445 K Street
Lincoln, NE 68509
 (402) 471-3738
Charlie Janssen Profile Picture
 Charlie Janssen
NE State Auditor of Public Accounts  (402) 471-2111
Robert B. Evnen Profile Picture
 Robert B. Evnen
NE Secretary of State  (402) 471-2554
John Murante Profile Picture
 John Murante
NE State Treasurer  (402) 471-2455
Doug Peterson Profile Picture
 Doug Peterson
NE Attorney General  (402) 471-2683

While the President and Vice President are the only elected officials at the National level, there are hundreds of other positions appointed by the President himself.

Nebraska will cast 5 Electoral College votes in the upcoming 2020 Presidential elections.

Joseph R. Biden Profile Picture
 Joseph R. Biden
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111
Kamala D. Harris Profile Picture
 Kamala D. Harris
Vice President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20500
 (202) 456-1111

 Elected Role Descriptions


The Auditor General is the chief fiscal watchdog of the commonwealth. This person is responsible for using annual audits to ensure that all government money is spent legally and properly.

Lieutenant Governor:

In most cases, the lieutenant governor is the highest officer of state after the governor, standing in for that officer when they are absent from the state or temporarily incapacitated. In the event a governor dies, resigns or is removed from office, the lieutenant governor typically becomes governor.


Typically, the Treasurer's duties include financial management and oversight of the particular department of which he or she manages. A Treasurer may also manage or oversee the financial affairs of the organization, often including tasks as selecting a bank, reconciling bank statements, and managing cash flow.

Available Zip Codes in Nebraska

Elected Government identifies who your local elected officials are.

© 2021  •  About  •  Contact  •  Privacy Policy